Home Album Amicorum Sprache wählen - select language Home The Album Amicorum The journey - Experiencing cultures of the world by bicycle Our partners and supporters Information from all over the world E-MailGet in contact with us.

Take a look
   Asia
   South America
   Europe

Take part

History

Last Interview   Next Interview India - Thailand - Laos - Vietnam - Cambodia
Walter Schweppe Walter
Walter Schweppe is head of the language department & depute director at the Max Mueller Bhavan in Delhi (Goethe Institut). Mr. Schweppe gave us the opportunity to join one of the courses and talk with the students.

"Stay peaceful"

Where are you born? What do you like about the place/country? I was born in Lemgo, Germany. Lemgo is a small an idyllic town of North Rhine Westphalia. I grow up in Osnabrueck, nearby. After my school education I thought I must go out of Osnabrueck. Today I think it is a very nice town. After the second world war everything was destroyed but it is rebuild like it was. My wife and me decided to go back to Osnabrueck for our retirement. Germany is my "Heimat", my home. The german language is a part of my identity. I think I realize that even more because I stayed so much time out of Germany.

Where do you live now? What do you like about this town/area? Since five years I live in Delhi, India. I like the climate in the north of India more than in the south. For me it would be too warm in the south. The first time I went to Asia was thirty years ago. I worked for the DAAD in East Pakistan, today Bangladesh. But we had to be evacuated from there. In 1971 I was the first time in Delhi. I like the people in Delhi. They are very open and it is easy to get in contact. In the Northwest of India the people seems to be more closed.

What do you like to celebrate? What is your favorite holiday or celebrating occasion? I am not very keen on parties and festivals. I like Christmas at home. Of the Indian Festivals I like Holi, because it is a very symphatic festival with colours and water.
Have you travelled before? My farest and my nicest travel was a long time ago, after school. My friends and me made a roundtrip through the USA, from New England to the South and back.
Where would you like to go next? New Zealand. Because of the history and the geography. But it is far away and expensive.
What means of transportations do you normally use? by bicycle and by car.
Do you live with other people? I live together with my wife. In our house also live our cook with his wife and two daughters and a watchman with his four children. So all together we are 10 people. Our two sons have already left home, one lives in Berlin, in Germany, the other one lives in China, in the inner Mongolei, teaching english. He does not like to settle down. Maybe it is because he was born in Kolkata...
What do you especially like to do? Alone? With your family/friends? Today the once who have jobs work a lot more than the regular working time. So there is not so much leisure time left. When I am alone I like to read books. And I like to go out for a walk with our dog.

With my wife or with friends I like to play cards. After eating we like to play a kind of bridge.

What event during the last week was especially nice? This Christmas was the first Christmas we didn`t stay at home. We have had been to Rajasthan and enjoyed a camel ride. That was the first camel ride of my life and very nice.
Which event in your life was especially nice? Once we decided to move from England to Berlin. Everything depended on selling our house in England that we could afford the moving and buy a house in Berlin. We sold the house just before Christmas. It was a great Christmas present for the whole family.
What would be your fondest wish? to stay healthy and to be able to enjoy the retirement.
Do you have any message or advice for our readers or us? Stay peaceful. Don`t think that your point of view is the only one which has the right to exist. Things are relativ. Be open for other people and other opinions.
W. Schweppe, 62 years old, Delhi, India.
4th January 2003.

   Last Interview   Next Interview Take part    Top of page